Solidus

Grasping history I / 2020

Bookplate of Edward T. Newell

1782 / London
Bookplate of Edward T. Newell with Corinthian Stater
Title page with owner's entry from Lord Hastings

Historical numismatic literature is an exciting area of ​​numismatics. In many cases, you can not only discover very rare books, but sometimes also track their history studying owner entries and bookplates.

In the book presented here “Nummorum veterum populorum et urbium, qui in museo G. Hunter asservantur” (published in London 1782) there is a bookplate of great interest to the collector, as it came from Edward Theodore Newell (1886 - 1941), who was a private scholar and coin collector. He studied archeology and oriental languages ​​at Yale University and was president of the American Numismatic Society from 1910 until his early death.

more

Newell was not only an important coin collector, he was also considered one of the most important researchers in Hellenistic numismatics. He has written numerous publications in the form of books and articles. His scientific contributions brought him the Archer M. Huntington Medal in 1918 and the Royal Numismatic Society's medal in 1925, the two highest numismatic awards of his time. Newell bequeathed his extensive collection of more than 87,000 coins to the American Numismatic Society.

Newell's bookplate consequently shows a coin, namely the back of a Corinthian Stater.

But yet another owner's entry including a stamp catches the eye here: “Lord Hastings 1852”. This is presumably Jacob Astley, 16th Baron Hastings (1797-1858), who was known as a coin collector and whose collection was auctioned at Sotheby’s in London in 1880. Unfortunately, it is not known how the book came to America and in Newell's hands.

Lot 20 from Solidus Auction 55 - Literature 5

Archive

Solidus

Geschichte begreifen I /2020

Exlibris von Edward T. Newell

1782 / London
Exlibris von Edward T. Newell mit korinthischem Stater
Titelseite mit Besitzereintrag von Lord Hastings

Ein spannender Bereich der Numismatik ist die historische numismatische Literatur. Hier kann man in etlichen Fällen nicht nur sehr seltene Bücher entdecken, sondern manchmal auch anhand von Besitzereinträgen und Exlibris deren Geschichte nachverfolgen.

Im vorgestellten Buch “Nummorum veterum populorum et urbium, qui in museo G. Hunter asservantur” (erschienen in London 1782) findet sich ein für den Sammler hochinteressantes Exlibris, stammt es doch von Edward Theodore Newell (1886 - 1941), seines Zeichens Privatgelehrter und Münzsammler. Er studierte an der Yale University Archäologie und orientalische Sprachen und war von 1910 bis zu seinem frühen Tod Präsident der American Numismatic Society.

weiterlesen

Newell war nicht nur ein bedeutender Münzsammler, sondern galt auch als einer der bedeutendsten Forscher auf dem Gebiet der hellenistischen Numismatik. Zahlreiche Publikationen in Form von Büchern und Artikeln entstammen seiner Feder. Seine wissenschaftlichen Beiträge brachten ihm 1918 die Archer M. Huntington Medal und 1925 die Medaille der Royal Numismatic Society, die beiden höchsten numismatischen Auszeichnungen seiner Zeit. Newell vermachte seine umfangreiche Sammlung von mehr als 87.000 Münzen der American Numismatic Society.

Das Newell’sche Exlibris zeigt folgerichtig eine Münze, und zwar die Rückseite eines korinthischen Staters.

Noch ein weiterer Besitzereintrag samt Stempel fällt ins Auge: “Lord Hastings 1852”. Hierbei handelt es sich wahrscheinlich um Jacob Astley, 16. Baron Hastings (1797 - 1858), der als Münzsammler bekannt war, und dessen Sammlung 1880 bei Sotheby’s in London versteigert wurde. Auf welchen Wegen das Buch nach Amerika und in die Hände von Newell kam, ist leider nicht überliefert.

Los 20 aus Solidus Auktion 55 - Literatur 5

Archiv